How to delete your Facebook search history

17th of November, 2015

Did you know that, like Google, Facebook logs everything you search while using their site? Users are benefitted in the same way by both sites: by logging your search history on Facebook, users are provided with a better Facebook experience because they can easily revisit past pages and profiles with smarter searches.

 

But in the quest for a better user experience comes a pitfall to your personal privacy. I’m sure many of us can think back to searches we’ve made that, while probably harmless, we don’t really want stored in a Facebook search timeline. For this reason, we at Privacy Shell have created this how-to article on deleting your Facebook search history.

1. Click on your “Search Facebook” bar; you will see a drop down list of your recent searches. Click the “Edit” button located to the right of “Recent Searches” (refer to image below).

2. Clicking “Edit” will bring you to a page similar to our next image, seen below. I will note that there are other ways to navigate to this page, but we feel this is the most efficient. Mashable provides another navigation to this page through your profile page.

 

Once on your search history page, you will have two distinct options for deleting your search history. First, seen with our horizontal arrow, you can clear all your searches by clicking the “Clear Searches” button. Your second option is to click the small delete symbol, highlighted by the vertical arrow. This delete icon allows users to decide on specific searches they wish to delete as opposed to all searches. Remember, however, that Facebook’s search logs are useful for enhancing user convenience and overall experience.

2. Clicking “Edit” will bring you to a page similar to our next image, seen below. I will note that there are other ways to navigate to this page, but we feel this is the most efficient. Mashable provides another navigation to this page through your profile page.

 

Once on your search history page, you will have two distinct options for deleting your search history. First, seen with our horizontal arrow, you can clear all your searches by clicking the “Clear Searches” button. Your second option is to click the small delete symbol, highlighted by the vertical arrow. This delete icon allows users to decide on specific searches they wish to delete as opposed to all searches. Remember, however, that Facebook’s search logs are useful for enhancing user convenience and overall experience.

About Ryan Jeethan

Ryan is a graduate of the University of Waterloo’s Arts & Business program focusing on UW’s unique Speech Communication program. 

© 2018 PrivacyShell Corp. 

995 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103 Suite 200

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • LinkedIn Clean